2018 Forward Prize For Best Single Poem Nominations

2018 Forward Prize For Best Single Poem Nominations

The Forward Prizes for poetry are a set of annual writing awards designed to celebrate the work of both established and emerging poets in the UK. They’re one of the most prestigious and long-running poetry prizes out there, with past winners that include Seamus Heaney, Simon Armitage, Kate Tempest and hundreds of other prominent poets.

Each year we put forward three poems who have appeared in Neon for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem – an honour that comes with a top prize of £1,000 and publication in this year’s Forward Book of Poetry. Here are our three nominations for 2018:

“The Raga Of Choices” by Al Rocheleau

“Carousel” by Esteban Rodriguez

“Dead Drop” by Jon Kemsley Clark

All three poets appeared in issue forty-five of Neon Literary Magazine, along with a host of other brilliant poets and fiction writers. Digital copies are still available to download for a price of your chooing. We’ll find out in September if any of our three nominations have been shortlisted or won. In the meantime, the best of luck to all of them!